The Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge {Day 5 – Pattern Mixing}

For today’s challenge, we were asked to do some pattern mixing.

I started experimenting with pattern mixing in December of 2009. (How do I remember that exactly?? That is when I had my other blog that I deleted – some people may remember me as from sneakers to stilettos.) I liked today’s challenge though because I have never mixed patterns in this dressed up of an outfit.

Dress & Belt – Calvin Klein via TJ Maxx, Cardi – New York and Company, Tights – Kohls, Shoes – Simply Vera via Kohls, Necklace and Earrings – via Eastern Market

I actually had thought about switching prompts with yesterday but then I thought it would be more of a challenge to keep the prompts the way they were. Also one of my new bosses had this awesome pattern mixing outfit on earlier this week that inspired me for today. She wore a nice black and gray striped shirt under a black leather blazer with the same colored gray and black large print houndstooth pencil skirt. She then wore black tights and pumps. It was such a chic outfit and I thought, that I might be able to pull something off too.

So I went with this new dress. I love the varying stripes of gray, black, and white. I then added these black argyle tights. I knew that I wanted a little something else to add to the mix and added the large flower statement necklace.I decided not to add a pop of color, but keep everything else basic black so that the pattern mixing was the highlight.

Check out my other fellow pattern mixing friends below!

And for fun – Here is my daughter happy that her momma is home from work!

7 thoughts on “The Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge {Day 5 – Pattern Mixing}

  1. Pingback: The Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge {Day 7 – Bright Colors} | istillchooseyou

Leave a Reply

