The Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge {Day 1 – Layers}

For the next two weeks I will be participating in the Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge hosted by Freckles in April.

Today’s Challenge – Layers

{Day 1}

Dress – no brand via TJ Maxx, Sweater – Kohls, Belt – New York and Company, Necklace and Earrings – New York and Company, Gray Tights – New York and Company, Black Lace Tights – New York and Company – Gray Flats – New York and Company, Blazer – New York and Company

Today I decided to layer in a more conventional way and in a more unique way. I layered my dress with a sweater and then a blazer. I wear layers with sweaters a lot and this year have discovered a love for wearing a blazer over an already layered sweater. This allowed me two things by doing this. One – I love the neckline of this dress. It has a nice detail and stays put, so I am covered without adjusting all day. Two – I stayed super warm because man was it cold out this morning. Next I went in a more unique direction and layered my tights. I also did this for two reasons. One – double tights mean LOTS of warmth, way warmer than pants would have kept me today. Two – it makes the black lace way more work appropriate. I through on a statement necklace and a waist defining belt for when I wasn’t covered up with my blazer and went out the door.

I was totally bummed this morning though. My husband works for the government and here in the DC area – they had a weather delay called last night. The delay was until 11am. I was very jealous when my alarm went off at 5:45 this morning that he didn’t have to get up until who knows when. Oh well – I got lots of work done before he even got to work today.

Don’t forget to go and check out the rest of the bloggers and their layers today too!

{click on the picture below to be taken there}

11 thoughts on “The Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge {Day 1 – Layers}

  1. Very nice. I love the necklace. It’s amazing what you can do with layers. Freckles in April is such a cute blog.

    I wanted to let you know about my new blog FEST about food, style & travel. Come follow along as I document my wardrobe challenge: to not but any clothes in 2012. It’s gonna be great. Also, be sure to join the site so you can enter the giveaway.

  2. Pingback: The Winter Edition 10 Day Challenge {Day 7 – Bright Colors} | istillchooseyou

Leave a Reply

